Here goes nothing…

Good morning. It is Saturday, May 2nd, 2015 and this is my very first post on my new blog. My name (my actual real name) is not of much concern here. Just think of me as Raddion if you don’t mind, as that’s the way I have always presented my “existence” on the Internet since the earliest days of dial-up modems and my first baby steps into the magic of AOL chat rooms and the long since gone USENET forums. Oh yes, and it’s also the name that I’ve always most enjoyed hiding behind!

Anyway, you might be thinking: Who or what is “Raddion?” Well, Raddion was an Android character that appeared in a singular 2nd season episode of the 1960’s science fiction show “Lost In Space.” Raddion wore a golden, glittery skin tight suit with a portable reel-to-reel tape recorder strapped to his chest (very realistic looking as you can imagine) and the episode’s plot involved his creator Dr. Sesmar’s attempts to “download” (steal) the different emotions of the crew of the Jupiter 2 using a modified Polaroid camera, complete with blinking lights and a realistic whirring sound effect. And then of course, Sesmar hoped to infuse those feelings and emotions into the robotic Raddion’s blank android soul – essentially leaving each member of the Robinson party that had been “photographed” with the blinking, whirring space camera devoid of their most vital human emotions. As with most evil alien plans hatched against the Robinson family, the experiment failed miserably, as love conquered all by episode’s end. Poor Raddion was left destined to wander the Universe forever, with little in the way of emotions, ambitions or even any particular reason for existing at all. A little bit like me in a way, I suppose.

So why am I telling you all this? I have no idea – I guess I just thought on that particular day back in 1996 that “Raddion” would make an awfully cool screen name!! Today is Saturday, May 2nd, 2015… I am Raddion, and I am officially outta here. Until next time!!!

Leave a Reply

